Author Topic: Announcing simply-nzedb  (Read 946 times)

Offline slydetector

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful: +1/-0
Announcing simply-nzedb
« on: 2016-11-14, 09:23:20 AM »
I'm in the process of converting from NN+ to nZEDb. As many of you know, getting things setup properly can be a formidable barrier to entry. Anyway, I've started a project  to make a new nZEDb install as simple and easy as possible. I've been through it a few times and was able to get a working setup in < 30 mins.  This is for Linux only and is based on Docker.

Try it out, you only have 30 mins to lose :-)

https://github.com/slydetector/simply-nzedb

Please report issues on Github directly:

https://github.com/slydetector/simply-nzedb/issues

As always, the more information you give me, the better I'll be able to help you.

Offline ebro

  • Junior Indexer
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful: +1/-0
Re: Announcing simply-nzedb
« Reply #1 on: 2016-11-15, 01:42:14 AM »
I am up for helping with this in some way of possible. Only issue is I would like to install on a Synology NAS. I have Docker  / Python / Git installed, and I can retrieve images etc, but am falling at having virtualenv installed. Any suggestions?

Update. I found virtualenv in "/volume1/@appstore/python/bin/virtualenv".

Update. I had to run "./venv/bin/docker-compose build --pull --force-rm "$@"" as sudo as there is no Docker group on my Synology.
« Last Edit: 2016-11-15, 06:08:02 AM by ebro »

Offline ebro

  • Junior Indexer
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Helpful: +1/-0
Re: Announcing simply-nzedb
« Reply #2 on: 2016-11-15, 07:01:03 AM »
OK, am up to bin/start_nzedb and get the following.

sudo venv/bin/docker-compose up -d
WARNING: The PWD variable is not set. Defaulting to a blank string.
Creating network "nzedb_default" with the default driver
Pulling adminer (clue/adminer:latest)...
latest: Pulling from clue/adminer
c02c7df4a131: Pull complete
a3ed95caeb02: Pull complete
bb0fa26d97bb: Pull complete
518c300041b3: Pull complete
93ec8e11265d: Pull complete
d4786dceebc8: Pull complete
7d567bf6b87b: Pull complete
34ab4e90e8cc: Pull complete
cbeb7eed8263: Pull complete
f159bb6a2c50: Pull complete
b5075b8e42e3: Pull complete
ffcee4e4f013: Pull complete
bdb5893c1bbf: Pull complete
Digest: sha256:47a888a40a1b24c8a49a34169ee4ef618e5a013076fb61424e4ce20629170a66
Status: Downloaded newer image for clue/adminer:latest
Creating nzedb_database_1

ERROR: for database  Cannot start service database: stat /data/var_lib_mysql: no such file or directory
ERROR: Encountered errors while bringing up the project."

Any suggestions?

Offline slydetector

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful: +1/-0

Offline fableman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful: +0/-0
Re: Announcing simply-nzedb
« Reply #4 on: 2016-12-27, 02:09:02 AM »
Thank alot for this install help!!!

Offline zen0n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful: +0/-0
Re: Announcing simply-nzedb
« Reply #5 on: 2017-01-02, 10:41:43 PM »
idiot first time docker use question,  everything seemed to install great.  But it's behind some internal docker nat network it seems.  Any quick way to change the docker container to grab an ip from the dhcp server on the LAN?

Offline dildo_baggins

  • Prolific Indexer
  • ****
  • Posts: 109
  • Helpful: +6/-0
Re: Announcing simply-nzedb
« Reply #6 on: 2017-01-04, 12:42:35 PM »
you did an AMAZING JOB!!  kudos dude!

Offline slydetector

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful: +1/-0
Re: Announcing simply-nzedb
« Reply #7 on: 2017-01-05, 03:22:47 PM »
idiot first time docker use question,  everything seemed to install great.  But it's behind some internal docker nat network it seems.  Any quick way to change the docker container to grab an ip from the dhcp server on the LAN?

The way docker containers work, they don't get their ip addresses from an external dhcp server. Docker networking is pretty complicated with all the things you can configure and options. The way this is set up, it only exposes the the tcp port for the web interface and proxyies that to your externally visible interface (usually eth0).  Maybe if you explain what you're trying to do, I could be a bit more helpful :-)

Offline adr3nal1n

  • Junior Indexer
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Helpful: +2/-0
Re: Announcing simply-nzedb
« Reply #8 on: 2017-01-26, 07:14:11 AM »
Hi,

Thank you @slydetector for your work on this,

Just tested this docker setup on my arch linux file server,

I noticed after setup was complete that the web interface did not show the "Other" drop down menu.

I had to run this sql query to get it to show up on the web interface:

Code: [Select]
UPDATE categories SET id='0' WHERE id='1000001';


« Last Edit: 2017-01-26, 07:20:52 AM by adr3nal1n »

Offline trev

  • Junior Indexer
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Helpful: +0/-0
Re: Announcing simply-nzedb
« Reply #9 on: 2017-01-31, 10:42:29 AM »
I've been out of the loop on this project for a very long time but I come back here to see how things are progressing.  I have used this docker image (new to docker images) and love how easy it is to setup.  I installed it in Virtualbox with no problem, however I have a question.  If I shutdown tmux, how do I start tmux/nzedb again?